2013 AZBio Trailblazer Awards

Date(s) - 11 Dec 2013
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Phoenix Country Club


Join AZBio, Members of the Arizona Business and Bioscience Community and Guests for a special luncheon to honor members of the Arizona Legislature and State and Local Elected Officials who have made it possible for the Arizona Bioscience Industry to gain national recognition, build capital infrastructure, and take its place as a leader in both scientific discovery and job growth.

For a look back at the 2012 Trailblazer Awards, Click Here.

For a look back at the 2011 Trailblazer Awards, Click Here.

The AZBio Trailblazer Awards

and Legislative Appreciation Luncheon



Each year, AZBio looks back across the legislative session to identify those leaders whose actions and active engagement support the growth of Arizona’s life science and healthcare industry and help to ensure the people of Arizona benefit from its success.  Scores are then tallied and the top ten legislative leaders are named the year’s Trailblazers.

The 2013 AZBio Trailblazers are:

  • Representative Heather Carter (LD-15)
  • Representative Jeff Dial  (LD-18)
  • Senator John McComish  (LD-18)
  • Representative Debbie McCune Davis (LD-30)
  • Senator Steve Pierce (LD-1)
  • Speaker of the House, Andy Tobin (LD-1)
  • Senator Anna Tovar (LD-19)
  • Senator Kelli Ward (LD-5)
  • Senator Bob Worsley (LD-25)
  • Senator Kimberly Yee (LD-20)


Location:  Phoenix Country Club 2901 N 7th Street Phoenix Arizona 85014


11:00   Registration and Networking

11:30   Program Begins

11:40  Awards Presentation

12:00 Lunch Break

12:15: Special Keynote Address

The Value  of Medical Innovation

Robert Hariri, MD, PhD , 

Chairman, Founder & Chief Scientific Officer Celgene Cellular Therapeutics

Dr. Hariri is a serial entrepreneur in two technology sectors: biomedicine and aerospace. The Chairman, Founder and Chief Scientific Officer of  of one of the world’s largest human cellular therapeutics companies, Dr. Hariri has pioneered the use of stem cells to treat a range of life threatening diseases. His activities and experience includes academic neurosurgeon at Cornell, businessman, military surgeon and aviator and aerospace innovator. Dr, Hariri has over 70 issued and pending patents, has authored over 100 published chapters, articles and abstracts and is most recognized for his discovery of pluripotent stem cells from the placenta and as a member of the team which discovered TNF (tumor necrosis factor). Dr. Hariri was recipient of the Thomas Alva Edison Award in 2007 and 2011, and has received numerous other honors for his many contributions to biomedicine and aviation.
A jet-rated commercial pilot with thousands of hours of flight time in over 60 different military and civilian aircraft, Dr. Hariri is a founder and board member of the Rocket Racing League, an extreme aerospace corporation. Dr. Hariri serves on numerous Boards of Directors including Myos Corporation and Provista. Dr Hariri is a member of the Board of Visitors of the Columbia University School of Engineering & Applied Sciences and the Science & Technology Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, and is a member of the scientific advisory board for the Archon X PRIZE for Genomics, which is awarded by the X Prize Foundation.

1:00     Event Concludes


Legislators. Public Servants  and Elected Officials:     Complimentary

AZBio Members and Partners:               $50.00 before 11/15  $75.00 after 11/15

Non Members:                                            $75.00 before 11/15  $100.00 after 11/15

Hosted Table:  9 tickets + VIP Guest      $500.00 before 11/15  $750.00 after 11/15

 Click here to register

Opportunities for Support:

AZBio is able to support these efforts thanks to the support of our community.

To see options for support, click the registration link.